8. Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct
1998 Old Gympie Road, Glass House Mountains
Heritage specialists, archaeologists and First Nations’ representatives have been engaged to uncover more about Bankfoot House and its surrounds. The house has recently been repainted to reflect its most significant period, and a Virtual Reality experience shows life before European settlement.
State heritage listed Bankfoot House is the oldest surviving residence in the district. Built in 1868 in time to greet the first Cobb & Co coach travelling from Brisbane to the Gympie goldfields, it offered a lunch stop, staging post, post office and accommodation.
In 1878 a new building was constructed at the rear of the original house using local pit-sawn timber, beech and cedar. Other earlier buildings included a butcher shop, dairy, laundry, stables and feed shed. After surviving many years, the 1868 house was dismantled in 1930, with some timber used to extend the 1878 house. Changes included a lower roof-line and new kitchen. In the 1960s the northern and eastern verandahs were enclosed.
The property remained in the same family for 134 years until 2004 when Council purchased the building and its contents. In 2015 the architecturally designed Mary Grigor Centre was built as an interpretive, research and archival space, and in 2018 the old shed was restored.
Bankfoot House TOUR & TALK
Visitors will receive a special tour that includes the conservation and archival storage areas in the Mary Grigor Centre and the restored shed.